Awefekt – Petite Boom

Awefekt is the latest boundary-pushing project to originate from the 37d03d movement, a festival series and publishing platform established by Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) and the Dessner brothers (The National).

After performing in the 2016 PEOPLE festival in Berlin, Jeremy Black of former psych-rock band Apollo Sunshine and noise artist Trever Hagen, a close collaborator of Bon Iver and Marijuana Deathsquads, found themselves meeting again at Vernon’s April Base studio in Wisconsin. There they launched into making music together, continuing the spirit of experimentation the festival had instilled in them. Hagen set up six guitar amplifiers in a circle to blow his unprepared trumpet (sans mouthpiece) through no-input feedback mixing, Black added Machine Drum, and the raw sounds of Awefekt emerged. Drums and noise.

They returned to April Base in 2017 to record with modular synthesizer artist Trevor Brooks, and Bon Iver’s multi-instrumentalist Andrew Fitzpatrick. The outcome, characterized by heavy electronic beats and raw noise, juxtaposed with lush modular synths and inventive sampling was wrangled together by producer Ryan Olson (Poliça, Gayngs) who added vocals by Naeem Juwan (Spank Rock), Moncelis Boston and Cliff Rhymes. Petite Boom by Awefekt Label: 37d03d

Video by Ramin Aryaie –